Pizza for Breakfast?

Carol Kubota
4 min readOct 14, 2020

“Life, within doors, has few pleasanter prospects than a neatly arranged and well-provisioned breakfast-table.”
― Nathaniel Hawthorne, The House of the Seven Gables

Pizza for Breakfast?

My friend Myra and I met for Breakfast at 8:00 a.m. at Farm and Craft in Scottsdale. We wanted to be one of the first customers to get a table outside because of COVID19. Anytime after 8:00 a.m. in the Summer in Arizona would fry us like bacon. The waiter wearing his black face covering and black uniform led us to a bench seat close to the exit. He handed us the menus, and we began sloshing our hands with hand sanitizer. I don’t like eggs for Breakfast. I try to stay away from pancakes, waffles, or French toast, I don’t need to add on any extra pounds. I honestly prefer to eat lunch for Breakfast.

The waiter came to take our order. I ordered the BBQ flatbread: pineapple jalapeño BBQ sauce, grilled chicken, black beans, and mozzarella finished with lime crema and fresh cilantro.

“So, you like eating pizza for breakfast?” he asked.

I never thought of flatbread as a pizza. It comes in a rectangular form, not circular. It is not smeared with tomato sauce and covered with pepperoni and peppers and topped off with a thick white blanket of cheese. It is served on toasted bread with sliced or diced tomatoes, fruit or vegetables, and a very thin layer of cheese. I like to think of it as healthier than a pizza.

--

--